This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Follow us on Twitter @buckeyeplanet and @bp_recruiting, like us on Facebook! Enjoy a post or article, recommend it to others! BP is only as strong as its community, and we only promote by word of mouth, so share away!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Consider registering! Fewer and higher quality ads, no emails you don't want, access to all the forums, download game torrents, private messages, polls, Sportsbook, etc. Even if you just want to lurk, there are a lot of good reasons to register!
    Dismiss Notice

2018 Week 13 CFB Open Thread

Discussion in '2018 Football Season Capsule' started by OHSportsFan, Nov 23, 2018.

  1. Dryden

    Dryden Sober as Sarkisian Staff Member Tech Admin

    Am I missing something? All four WRs are more than a yard behind the 18. That’s five men in the backfield, which is an illegal formation penalty, and a 10 second runoff.
     
  2. Nutriaitch

    Nutriaitch Retired Super Hero

    that’s a bad angle in that pic.
    there is another one looking down the line a bit more than that.

    to be “on the line” a player only needs to break an imaginary line created by the center’s hip.
    2 of the 4 wideouts definitely do, and the other two are probably a hair back (probably too close to call in that spot).

    4BF9D838-1F0C-4397-B2C8-1CD0E6AC6253.jpeg
     
    brodybuck21 likes this.
  3. alexhortdog95

    alexhortdog95 Sad Frosty...

    Having coached the sport for 7 years, there's something that is being overlooked here, regardless of what happened on the field.

    Prior to any game, coaches from BOTH teams meet with the head of officials for that game. Mostly, it's a meet and greet, shake hands, joke a bit about going easy on the flags, yada yada. But it's also an opportune time to tell the officials about any special plays you may run that game, and to ask them how they're going to rule on it. Nine times out of ten, when they see the formation, a simple nod in your direction lets you know that they're watching it and know it's what you discussed in pregame.

    Does this lend ones self to the conspiracy theory that the refs were out to get Coach O? Maybe....

    But having done it myself, that's always been the norm. And I'm not the only one.

    Just ask the Palouse Pirate...

    upload_2018-11-26_12-42-3.png
     
  4. Woody1968

    Woody1968 Agent Provocateur

    aTm got a generous spot on the 4th and 18 they converted on the final drive of regulation. It did not look to me like the ball made it to the first down marker (although the line is somewhat unreliable). Surprised that LSU did not ask them to review.
     
  5. Nutriaitch

    Nutriaitch Retired Super Hero

    yellow line on TV was waaaaaay off on that one.

    line to gain was the 43, but yellow TV line was on the 41.

    they moved it for some reason after the int/non-int on 2nd down.
     
  6. Woody1968

    Woody1968 Agent Provocateur

    Ah, that explains it.
     
  7. Nutriaitch

    Nutriaitch Retired Super Hero

    the 2nd down int/non-int:

    CE81CEF2-E87D-473D-AD2D-876422DEDA2C.jpeg

    2 snaps later:

    6E8F8649-579D-4F96-8A0C-E86C06455D46.jpeg


    looks terrible because of the yellow line.
    no yellow line at the stadium is why no one even shrugged at the play.
     
  8. BB73

    BB73 Loves Buckeye History Staff Member Bookie '16 & '17 Upset Contest Winner

    Not at the time, but aTm has now done that to LSU in 7OTs.
     
    1926Buckeyes likes this.
  9. Nutriaitch

    Nutriaitch Retired Super Hero

    great.

    we’ve been reduced to being the answer to trivia questions:

    only team to be involved in losing coach getting a gatorade shower twice? LSU

    most points ever scored in a loss? LSU
     
    Jake, kujirakira and brodybuck21 like this.
  10. Mike80

    Mike80 Avenge Woody

    It is still an illegal formation because the left tackle is ineligible and is not covered in the formation.
     
  11. alexhortdog95

    alexhortdog95 Sad Frosty...

    Only if the Tackle doesn't report as eligible, I think.
    And if the Zebras say it's not a valid formation.
     
  12. Nutriaitch

    Nutriaitch Retired Super Hero

    does not have to be covered.
    only becomes a penalty if he goes downfield.
     
    BB73 likes this.

Share This Page