This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Follow us on Twitter @buckeyeplanet and @bp_recruiting, like us on Facebook! Enjoy a post or article, recommend it to others! BP is only as strong as its community, and we only promote by word of mouth, so share away!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Consider registering! Fewer and higher quality ads, no emails you don't want, access to all the forums, download game torrents, private messages, polls, Sportsbook, etc. Even if you just want to lurk, there are a lot of good reasons to register!
    Dismiss Notice

Buckeye National Championships

Discussion in 'Buckeye Football' started by tmporter, Jul 2, 2004.

  1. tmporter

    tmporter Freshman

    I was discussing how many national championships Woody Hayes won while at Ohio State, and some of those I was talking with had listed many more than I could think of. So with all the wisdom and knowledge I have seen on this board, I thought I would ask for some clarificition. Can someone enlighten me?
  2. MililaniBuckeye

    MililaniBuckeye The satanic soulless freight train that is Ohio St Staff Member Tech Admin

    Woody won three titles which are recognized by the media: 1954 (AP), 1957 (UPI), and 1968 (consensus). The university also recognizes titles awarded in 1961 (FWAA) and 1970 (NFFHOF). So, depending on who you listen to, he won at least three and as many as five national titles.
  3. LordJeffBuck

    LordJeffBuck Illuminatus Emeritus Staff Member BP Recruiting Team

    Mili is absolutely correct. However, it should be noted that the 1970 "NC" was voted on before the Bucks lost to Stanford in the Rose Bowl, and thus was based on only the 1970 regular season. For that reason, I think that only the most ardent Buckeye fans conssider it to be a valid "NC" (I do not).
  4. Oh8ch

    Oh8ch Cognoscente of Omphaloskepsis Staff Member

    Some folks will argue OSU has won as many as 7 NCs. Most 'ardent' fans agree that we have won 5 consensus championships.

    I have a hat (gift) that says OSU is a Seven Time National Champion. I have never worn it. (But it is a cool hat.)
  5. Bucklion

    Bucklion Throwback Staff Member Former Premier League Champ

    Yeah, we're only a couple of dozen short of the 40 or so titles Donny Jr. always said Alabama had :lol:
  6. Faust

    Faust Newbie

    The powers that are at OSU have decided to include 1970 as a National Title season. Of course, the Buckeyes were 9-0 and ranked #1 in one poll or another BEFORE the Rose Bowl loss to Stanford. So including 1970 in the pantheon is somewhat disingenous. Woody might be the first to admit that this is a thin thread on which to base a title claim.

    I've noticed some schools include retroactive (pre 1936) seasons as National Titles. If so, why not swap 1970 for 1916 as an OSU National Championship season? The Buckeyes, led by Chic Harley, went 7-0 while winning the school's first ever conference championship. Included were first ever wins against Illinois and Wisconsin (one point each!) and an 128-0 victory over Oberlin. The Buckeyes were undefeated. Who can say they weren't the nation's best team with any certainty. It is difficult to argue against a perfect season.

    OHIO STATE: National Championships

    1916, 1942, 1954, 1957, 1961, 1968, 2002
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2004
  7. SC"U"Mbuster

    SC"U"Mbuster Newbie

    Check out this thread that I started a while back:
  8. MililaniBuckeye

    MililaniBuckeye The satanic soulless freight train that is Ohio St Staff Member Tech Admin


    The AP took their final poll prior to bowl games from 1936 - 1964 and in 1966 and 1967. They took their final poll after the bowl games in 1965 and from 1968 - Current.

    The Coaches Poll took their final poll prior to the bowl games from 1950 - 1973 and starting in 1974 took their final poll after bowl games.

    So, using your logic, we have only two "legit" national titles (1968 and 2002), because our 1942 and 1957 AP titles and our 1957 UP (coaches) titles don't count becuase they were given to us prior to bowl games. And since the UP portion of our 1968 title was given before the bowl games, that doesn't count either, so the 1968 title is AP only. So we have only one "consensus" national title (2002). :roll1:

    I'm tired of arguing this shit. We have seven titles, period. If you don't want to accept them, then fine. By the way, there's no more "ardent" fan than I, and I accept the seven titles.

Share This Page