This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Follow us on Twitter @buckeyeplanet and @bp_recruiting, like us on Facebook! Enjoy a post or article, recommend it to others! BP is only as strong as its community, and we only promote by word of mouth, so share away!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Consider registering! Fewer and higher quality ads, no emails you don't want, access to all the forums, download game torrents, private messages, polls, Sportsbook, etc. Even if you just want to lurk, there are a lot of good reasons to register!
    Dismiss Notice

Major programs with most individual player awards

Discussion in 'College Football' started by BB73, Dec 2, 2004.

  1. BB73

    BB73 Loves Buckeye History Staff Member Bookie '16 & '17 Upset Contest Winner

    Updated for these 2019 awards.

    Walter Camp POY (Joe Burrow, LSU), Doak Walker RB (Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin), Biletnikoff Receiver (Ja'Marr Chase, LSU), Outland Interior Lineman (Penai Sewell, Oregon), Davey O'Brien QB (Joe Burrow, LSU), Ray Guy Punter (Max Duffy, Kentucky), Thorpe DB (Grant Delpit, LSU), Lou Groza PK (Rodrigo Blankenship, UGA), Bednarik Defensive (Chase Young, tOSU), Nagurski Defensive (Chase Young, tOSU), Mackey TE (Harrison Bryant, FAU), Maxwell POY (Joe Burrow, LSU), Wuerrfel (Jon Wassink, W. Mich), Rimington Center (Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin), Unitas Golden Arm (Joe Burrow, LSU), Hendricks DE (Chase Young, tOSU), Butkus LB (Isaiah Simmons, Clemson), Campbell Academic (Justin Herbert, Oregon), Heisman (Joe Burrow, LSU), Manning (Joe Burrow, LSU), Lott Impact (Derrick Brown, Auburn), Lowe's CLASS (Derrick Brown, Auburn), Lombardi (Joe Burrow, LSU)

    2019 summary so far: LSU (9; 7 for Burrow, Chase, Delpit), Ohio State (3; all for Young), Wisconsin (2; Taylor, Biadasz), Oregon (2; Sewell, Herbert), Auburn (2 for Brown), 1 each for Georgia, Clemson, Kentucky, Florida Atlantic, and W. Michigan

    OK, this now has Clemson and Iowa instead of Tennessee and Arkansas. When I switched to this table I also switched columns for Bama and Miami based on relevance.



    Award1st yrtOSUOklaTexUSCNebNDBamaPSUFlaFSUTTUNUGALSUWiscAubUCLAClemMiamIowa
    W. Camp19674436342212211130020
    Unitas198701 13122013001101120
    Doak Walker19901041002100110500001
    Groza199210 00000014010002001
    Guy200010 10000010010100000
    Lott200410 00011100111112001
    Lowe's CLASS20081000110110100010000

    Award TotalstOSUOklaTexUSCNebNDBamaPSUFlaFSUTTUNUGALSUWiscAubUCLAClemMiamIowa
    Total Categories Won21161614131417151412151517101198149
    Tot # Of Awards Won47453529303835282225191824161712112315

    Note - I only did this for these 19 teams.

    Note - No longer counting O'Brien's that went to Earl Campbell in '77, Billy Sims in '78 (It was basically a SWC award until 1980, Singletary won in '79 and '80, then in '81 it was changed to strictly a QB award)

    Note - removed 2005 Heisman
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
    Redhawk, shetuck, osu_edu and 9 others like this.
  2. tibor75

    tibor75 Banned

    Nice job.
    OSU will have 29 after the Groza. OU is probably up for a few too so it'll be interesting if we still have the lead...
  3. MililaniBuckeye

    MililaniBuckeye The satanic soulless freight train that is Ohio St Staff Member Tech Admin

    Thats deserves a Great Post Award.
  4. JXC

    JXC 17-2 since 2001

    I wish Cooper could have translated all that talent into at least one national championship. I can't believe with all that talent Cooper had he only went to 1 Rose Bowl and had 0 National Championships. But there is no doubt in my mind that tOSU has had more great football players in it's history then any other program. The great ones want to go to tOSU, and then tOSU makes them into heros. Past individual sucess really does well for recruiting.
  5. FCollinsBuckeye

    FCollinsBuckeye Senior Former Game Champion

    Nice summary, BBill!
  6. AmeriBuck007

    AmeriBuck007 Honey, Frank the Tank is not coming back

    Great Post, with Nuge getting the Groza we'll be at 29 and from my perspective Oklahoma's chances are with the Heisman, Obrien, and Doak Walker.. But I think Benson will get the Doak Walker award and the Heisman is still up for grabs so I think we'll still have a slight lead
  7. Dryden

    Dryden Sober as Sarkisian Staff Member Tech Admin

    Awesome post! I think you should count the Draddy's though, specifically because it debunks the popular misconception that OSU is a "football factory."

    Hoying won the Draddy in '95, so that gives OSU 2.
  8. sandgk

    sandgk Watson, Crick & A Twist

    Really nice job guys.

    Got one extra special addition... in very sure hands lets hear it for

    Mike Lanese the 1985 Rhodes Scholar and tOSu flanker

    How many programs outside the Ivy League ever had a football player who was also a Rhodes Scholar?
  9. methomps

    methomps an imbecility, a stupidity without name

    Great post. FYI, White just won the Unitas this year, but Matty bleepin' Leinart will do his best to keep JW from being immortalized with a second Heisman
  10. BB73

    BB73 Loves Buckeye History Staff Member Bookie '16 & '17 Upset Contest Winner

    Thanks, thomps.

    Since Jason White was eligible for the Unitas as a 'senior' QB last year, how was he eligible again this year? An award for 'the best senior QB' seems like something you should only have 1 shot at. :wink2:

    And I'm pulling for Leinart over White for the Heisman. Because of the 2-time thing.
  11. AmeriBuck007

    AmeriBuck007 Honey, Frank the Tank is not coming back

    Lets go Leinhart, Archie needs to be the only two timer of history, of course until Teddy wins it next year and the year after
  12. bucknut11

    bucknut11 Defense still wins Championships

    Nah, that makes too much sense.
  13. 3yardsandacloud

    3yardsandacloud Administrator Emeritus

    Nice stuff Bill. If you want to throw in coach of the year awards OSU has:

    4 Coach of the Year (AFCA) - Widdoes, Hayes, Bruce, Tressel
    5 Coach of the Year (Eddie Robinson-FWAA) - Hayes (3), Bruce, Tressel
    5 Paul 'Bear' Bryant Award (COY) - Hayes (3), Bruce, Tressel
    1 Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award - Tressel

    Oklahoma has:

    2 Coach of the Year (AFCA) - Wilkerson, Stoops
    1 Coach of the Year (Eddie Robinson-FWAA) - Stoops
    1 Paul 'Bear' Bryant Award (COY) - Stoops

    Additionally, OSU has 24 members (20 players/4 coaches) in the CFHOF while Oklahoma has 20 members (15 players/5 coaches)

    If anyone has other award questions I have all the major awards in a database updated thru the 2002 season, still need to add last year and the awards when they come out this season.
  14. Dryden

    Dryden Sober as Sarkisian Staff Member Tech Admin

    Really? Is this something you've maintained privately? I'd be interested to know the numbers for the top programs in All-Americans (1st team, 2nd team, total, etc.).
  15. Steve19

    Steve19 Watching. Always watching. Staff Member

    Chiclet for you, outstanding post!

Share This Page